presidential awards for excellence in math and science teaching


You can nominate an outstanding  teacher at

The Texas Education Agency is pleased to announce that nominations and applications for the 2010 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are now being accepted. PAEMST is the highest recognition that a mathematics or science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. This year the PAEMST program will honor  school teachers (grades K-6). The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on the behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.  

This program recognizes teachers for their contributions to teaching and learning and their ability to help students make progress in mathematics and science. Awards are given to mathematics and science teachers from each of the 50 states and four U.S. jurisdictions. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.  

To apply, teachers must first be nominated for the award. Teachers may nominate themselves or may be nominated by someone else (e.g., principals, teachers, parents, or other members of the general public). Once nominated, teachers will receive an email with instructions on how to access the online application. The application deadline for  school teachers (grades K-6) is May 1, 2010.

 The following are eligibility criteria for nominees. They must:

  • teach mathematics or science at the K-6th grade level in a public or private school;
  • teach in one of the 50 states or the four U.S. jurisdictions; 
  • hold at least a Bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution; 
  • be a full-time employee of the school or school district as determined by state and district policies, and teach at least 50% of the time;  
  • have at least 5 years of full-time, K-12 teaching experience prior to the 2009-2010 academic school year; 
  • not have received the PAEMST award at the national level in any prior competition or category. 

Recipients of the award receive the following:  

  •  A citation signed by the President of the United States;
  • A paid trip for two to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities;
  • A $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.     
Published in: on February 27, 2010 at 12:38 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: